accessibility help | a-z site map


Chair of Governors

Mr Jarvis, Chair of Governors
Mr Jarvis, Chair of Governors

Welcome to the Governors page where you can find out more about the Governors and the work that we do.

I first became involved with the school as a parent governor some 15 years ago and have been Chair of the Governing body for the last few years. I am very proud of the school both for its academic record and in terms of the ethos of caring and respect that is obvious when I visit the school.

As governors we have an important role as a 'Critical Friend' to the school, working in partnership with the school community to help provide the best possible education for our pupils. At Mount Pleasant School there are Parent Governors elected by parents; Staff Governors elected by the staff; members of the local community elected by the Governing Body; and Governors appointed by the local authority.

Governors also have an important role to fulfil in raising standards in education. Our main purpose is to provide a strategic and policy framework within which the school can run. It is the responsibility of the Head Teacher and staff to guide and advise Governors, implement the plans and deliver the curriculum. Our responsibilities include, forming policies for the curriculum, staffing, finance, monitoring standards, and special educational needs. Governors are involved in the selection of all the new teaching and support staff. We visit the school regularly and some of us have been assigned a particular curriculum area to focus on.

Our main work is completed in two sub committees dealing with finance and curriculum matters. The sub committees meet regularly and then report back to the whole Governing Body at its termly meetings.

Our vision statement is 'Working Together, Achieving Together'. Our aim is for every child to achieve their full potential and in so doing become a valued member of the community. If you have any views or comments that you would like to discuss with us then please contact the parent governors identified below or write to me.

Mr Stewart Jarvis, Chair of Governors

Governing Body

Name Title/Type
Mr Stewart Jarvis Chair of Governors, Co-opted Governor
Mrs Angela Perry Vice Chair of Governors, Child Protection, Co-opted Governor
Mrs Paula Higgs Co-opted Governor
Mrs Heather Morris Co-opted Governor
Mrs Jane Goode Parent Governor, Looked After Children
Mrs Rebecca Hill Parent Governor
Mrs Laura Wood Parent Governor
Mrs Claire Grinsell Staff Governor
Mrs Shirley Taylor Staff Governor
Mrs Lorrain Capener Associate Member, Child Protection, Looked After Children

Also see: Governors Sub-Committees and Interests (pdf)

Meet our Parent Governors

Mrs Jane Goode